Merdays

merde_moringey.jpg

Merde=french for shit.

Midas Touch=from the greek myth, the ability to turn everything to gold with one’s touch.

Merde Touch=you guess

The Midas Touch proved disastrous of course. But the Merde Touch is equally disastrous.
It started all nicey nice, really, that Monday. Cozy almost. I woke up to the ice so I called my physical therapist to cancel my 8 Am appointment citing the irony of driving on icy roads to receive pain management treatment for inoperable spinal damage caused by a car accident decades ago on an icy road (I was in the passenger seat. David Cassidy was driving. He was blonde in those days).

Mo Ringey Truth BidetThen I called the gallery and canceled going up to finish setting up my show opening today citing how embarrassingly cliche it would be – dying for my art.

Next came calling my therapist to cancel my appointment stressing that swerving around on icy roads would push me further into the growing agoraphobia we are treating and how that would result in more dire escapist, and possibly counter-productive, behaviors.

And then the merde touch kicked in and everything I touched broke and broke and then broke. And today, during day 2 of merde touchness, I tragically broke the truth in my truth bidet. The possibly metaphoric implications terrify me. So I took an anti-anxiety pill and looked for lighthearted news to share. I found this which is sorta sweet, outdated I guess, but I’d not heard of it.

twomblyautunno.jpgTuesday, July 24, 2007

Woman Charged for Kissing a Twombly Painting.

A woman has been charged in France for kissing a Cy Twombly painting worth more than 2 million dollars. Sam Rindy was overcome with passion in front of the work and just couldn’t help herself.

Painting meets its femme fatale
“I left a kiss,” she told La Provence newspaper on leaving the police station. “A red stain remained on the canvas… This red stain is testimony to this moment, to the power of art.” Speaking to French news agency AFP, she said the artist had “left this white” for her. BBC

The painting was hanging at the Collection Lambert gallery in Avignon, France. The exhibition is called “Cy Twombly Blooming – A Scattering of Blossoms and other Things.” I couldn’t find the damaged painting, but the Twombly works that are shown on the Collection Lambert website look like giant kisses. I’m sure the artist would have been amused by it, rather than being offended by it.

Mo Ringey Truth BidetThen I looked for more things that were sweet and funny, and, finding none, decided to quit before I break my blog.

3 Responses to “Merdays”

  1. this is a test. as tests go this is a simple test. i have changed the settings to allow commenting without login. hopefully this will work and not turn to shit like everything else i have touched this week.

  2. In the face of frustration invoke Pollyanna-ism. Even merde makes decent compost. I am imagining a world in which we all go about kissing the objects that inspire us or bring us some small joy. Of course, in this weather our lips might get stuck in odd places.

  3. I always marvel that the whole world is clearer through tears. I finally, 42 years into it, remember that it will always stop raining, always.

Leave a comment