Advocating with an open mind and heart: Discussion of the Clay Greene vs Sonoma County case

You know Mo… nobody gives a shit until something affects them.

It’s just unfortunate that people could think it doesn’t.  — Joe

______________________________________

SOCIETAL INDICATOR OR TOTALLY IRRELEVANT DATA?: THE TOP PETITIONS TODAY IN TERMS OF QUANTITY OF SIGNATURES IS “Give Legend of the Seeker Season 3”

DISHEARTENING STATS: 17,691 People Like This —> THE JUSTICE FOR CLAY GREENE FB PAGE, BEAUTIFUL! ALL PETITIONS ASKING FOR INVESTIGATION COMBINED HAVE A TOTAL OF 2000 SIGNATURES.  DISMAL.

______________________________________

FACEBOOK DISCUSSION

Me: asking for an investigation and review seems not too much to ask.
Yesterday at 7:57am ·

Me: And I really hope they are not trying to fix their huge PR problem by blaming the victim, though it would not be a new tactic, sadly.
Yesterday at 7:57am ·

Me: THAT said – that there is the teeniest possibility at all that they might be somehow blaming the victim – I feel more strongly than ever that a thorough investigation need be commenced immediately. Due process. That’s all.
Yesterday at 7:58am ·

Me: and I am happy to have this conversation all by myself, if necessary. Just like I do in the shower.
Yesterday at 9:57am ·

WNS: there’s no excuse for not honoring their stated wishes, or for selling off someones’s belongings. having worked for the sonoma county social services dept., albeit in another section, i am surprised by their behavior- the people i met were decent and caring.
Yesterday at 10:37am ·

Me: YOU MET THEM?
Yesterday at 10:59am ·

WNS: sonoma county social service workers – yes, but hopefully not the ones who perpetrated this evil
Yesterday at 11:04am ·

Me: either way – if the allegations of abuse are true or not – a full investigation seems very necessary. It can sometimes be just one person leading the pack. sigh.
Yesterday at 11:11am ·

MC: Hi Mo – I agree about an investigation, but I just don’t think this would happen to a heterosexual couple. If Clay were a straight man with no legal charges made against him….it just wouldn’t happen. It upsets me too because I want Clay to be a hero, and he probably isn’t, but he might still be getting abused by the system. Here’s a blog from the NCLR and their statement about the case.
KATE’S BLOG
http://www.nclrights.org/site/PageServer?pagename=blog_katesBlog
CASE DOCKET
http://www.nclrights.org/site/PageServer?pagename=issue_caseDocket_Greene_v_County_of_Sonoma_et_al
Yesterday at 11:42am ·

MC: Thank you for talking about the complicated side of the case. Sometimes I can be a cheerleader, but somehow (how do you do it?) you’re advocating with an open mind and heart. Awesome.
Yesterday at 11:45am ·

Me: From the NCLR, “In every case our clients are human beings, and they are not perfect, which is why we all identify so fiercely with those we represent. At the time of Harold’s fall he had already been experiencing some degree of mental impairment, and had been drinking. He fell down the stairs and became angry when Clay wanted to call an ambulance because he was afraid of what the result might be. (And as it turned out, he had good reason to be.) The paramedics who arrived on the scene suspected the possibility of abuse. But that suspicion was false.”

powerful and well-written.

Yesterday at 11:51am ·

Me: I got an email from a legal rep for the County who made some strong negative allegations, and then said he could not comment on the case in any way
Yesterday at 11:52am ·

Me: well, being well-aware of my own faults (and working on them daily), and mysteriously down 2 friends since getting on this soapbox, I am aware that maybe there are sides we don’t know and that causes reticence. so ignoring that such allegations exist would be hypocritical; as if I believe only one side about a case I have no first-hand knowledge of…
See More
Yesterday at 12:11pm ·

MC: Hmmmmmmm… Yeah, this thread does seem to be a dialogue :)

My brain and my belly say that this is homophobia, and at the same time the alcohol and abuse complications make me wary too. I think HE was abused by the system, but he’s not a hero. I want to support him, but I understand if the soapbox feels wobbly.

But on the other hand: several of my gay friends signed and passed around the petition and none of my very outspoken gay friends have spoken against it. And the FB page has, like, 17,000 people. I think maybe the humble petition goals were set high, but…….
See More
Yesterday at 2:38pm ·

TF: I’m listening Mo and I am also too sensitive about this sort of thing. I was so upset about this that I couldn’t sleep the other night. I signed two petitions and sent an email to the county and also re-posted the information on my page and did also take notice of what little notice was taken. It’s hard not to feel too small to make a difference in such an immutable world.

What happened to this couple is one of my greatest fears. To have an accident and be torn away from my partner and home is something that gives me constant anxiety. I am from South East Texas and my entire family is composed of religious fanatics, who in no way respect my relationship with Amy, and I am most certain that given the event of an accident they would unremorsefully ignore her all together.

I have always had this false since of security that if I made her my Power of Attorney I would be safe. Now with this current incident (and in a State I’ve always thought of as liberal), it seems that not even with the proper legal documents is a non-heterosexual couple safe. A soap-box is what is needed.
Yesterday at 2:46pm ·

Me: thank you TF. I saw your signature at the beginning and it warmed my heart. And I totally feel that same fear as I chose not to make any of my relationships sanctioned or licensed by the state. As a heterosexual yet “not lawfully wed” person with legal papers in the works to ensure that my assets go to my intended recipients, and a ‘family’ I have not seen in 7 years now (nor received any assets from in any way), I too share this fear. I am also preparing legal paperwork for my care as my spinal condition deteriorates and the thought that I might have to legally divide my assets now also scares me as I’d like to keep my assets till whichever day, however close or far away such division might be necessary, and not have to sign them away yet but such stories seem to indicate that, for my own protection and that of my assets, this might not hold up.

As for allegations of abuse, well, Harold suffered from early stages of dementia and I have an uncle with Alzheimer’s and I go to his house a few hours each week to check in on him and do laundry and use the bathtub (as I only have a shower the size of a claustrophobia-attack-inducing elevator) and on some days he does not know who I am and the day will come when it is not safe for me to go there because if he doesn’t know who I am, he could rightfully though deliriously decide to protect himself and attack me. And that could be misconstrued by the first responders on the scene as abuse by one of us though my only crime would be to simply be in his home and his only crime would be fear and self-protection. So these allegations could possibly be just that and, since reports are written by responders and not involved parties, could possibly portray a false situation.

Yet again, the petition merely calls for an investigation AND said review of said applicable laws.

And, my dear, we need to get together. I will email you separately about that. Thank you very much for your words and your concern for my little foray into petition-ism. :-)
6 minutes ago ·

Me: the options were up to one million and though people were saying “Go for the top!” I was afraid and scaled it down thinking, “Well I have 450 FB friends and they have friends and I have many Gay and Lesbian friends and also have unwed friends in long-term relationships and etc, so I thought 100,000 was actually low given the larger population. I was naive in thinking word would spread. I shoudl have known though, as I tried this once before years ago and people were upset at being asked. I was encouraged by how many people seem willing to join fan pages for simpler things.

Leave a Reply

