Happy Birthday, Mr. Gnome de Pluehm

Today is a Benigngirl Holiday because it is Gnome de Pluehm’s birthday. Well, tomorrow, November 20, is his birthday but today I am beginning bloggerly preparations. Coincidentally, it is also Nyal William’s birthday (tomorrow, again) and, coincidentally, both are loyal readers and commenters of this blog, so — all together now,

Happy Birthday Men!

I am out of town and making this post on my lazyass, wonky, POS laptop so please forgive the odd spacing and etc. My chillmat broke and it’s overheating and as much as I love these birthday men, I am not going outside to work, though it would solve my overheating laptop complications.

Happy Birthday, Gnome de Plue------ue---uem, ....

“Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.”
Jean Paul Richter

The beaver’s powerful jaws are capable of felling blue spruce in less than ten minutes and proved, needless to say, more than a match for the tender limbs of America’s favorite birthday boy.

“All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much.”
George Harrison

Voltaire, half smiling, appears to be looking at his thoughts–perhaps at the tragicomic failings and follies of having a birthday.

“To keep the heart unwrinkled, to be hopeful, kindly, cheerful, reverent – that is to triumph over old age.”
Thomas Bailey Aldrich

Although modern birthdays (especially in America) are mainly populated with horses, carousels from earlier periods frequently included diverse varieties of animals, including dogs, cats, rabbits, pigs, and deer, to name a few.

“The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has time enough.”
Rabindranath Tagore

Whenever you walk into a room remember always that you are the least important person in that room, unless it is your birthday, or you are an angry Mime.

“My mother is going to have to stop lying about her age because pretty soon I’m going to be older than she is.”
Tripp Evans

By making a Bose-Einstein condensate in a particular isotope — rubidium-85 — and then changing the magnetic field in which the BEC is sitting, researchers can adjust the wavefunction’s self-interaction between birthdays and national holiday.

“You know you are getting old when the candles cost more than the cake.”
Bob Hope

Blair: “There is a hopefulness in his contextural destruction, especially in his birthday work.”

“Age doesn’t matter, unless you are cheese.”
John Paul Getty

“I’ve pointed out to Gnome de Pluehm that he’s the person he is today because he came under the wrath of Bill Mitchell.”

To be upset over what you don’t have is to waste what you do have.
Ken Keyes, Jr.

Birthdays - It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.

So many candles… so little cake.

See the birthday clowns. From what do they flee, in their double-entendre wanders?

5 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Mr. Gnome de Pluehm”

  1. So good to see you blogging. I was having withdrawl symptoms.
    P.S. LOVE THE BEAR!

  2. Gnome de Pluehm Says:

    Oh, my goodness! To be so honored! I’m sure that Nyal Williams will be jealous for not getting all this attention. But that’s ok; I happen to know that it is not really his birthday. Mine is today (and everyday, because I’m born anew each morning), but Nyal’s birthday, I happen to know, is December 20. Let’s not tell him about this; he might not notice.

    G. de P.

  3. I wonder if Nyal filled out a birthday alarm as well. Certainly GdP must be the one to fill out a birthday alarm for 11/20. Men are so confusing.

  4. Hello, just wanted you to know I have added your site to my Google bookmarks because of your great blog layout. But in earnest, I think your site has one of the simplest theme I’ve came across. It really helps make reading your blog a lot easier.

  5. MO – this is one of the strangest (and artful) blog posts I’ve seen of late. I know I’ve been staying up late and working hard, but this really made me blink…and smile. Oh that Mr. Gnome de Pleueueume! Deserving of such art.

Leave a Reply

