Say it With Cake: Stray Cat Sayonara

I should have gotten him a Deer cake to celebrate a week since surgery.

I should have gotten him a buck-toothed Deer cake to celebrate a week since surgery.

SAY IT WITH CAKE

CAKEY MESSAGES BROUGHT TO YOU BY CakeWrecks

Today was a week since Chauncey the Cat’s surgery so it was time to let him go. Somehow he seemed to know this as he was restless. I got to my studio at 10 AM today and pulled back the blankets and he blinked at me all sleepy-eyed and hunkered back down in his bedbox. So I made him a plate of Fancy Feast with a side of dry and slipped it into his cage.

Or maybe a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow parting gift cake

Or maybe a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow parting gift cake

About 30 minutes later he started crying and I saw that he had accidentally pushed his plate out of the cage, out of reach. So I went over to fix this and he started hissing at me. He doesn’t often hiss at me.

Instead of a goodbye note he left me this cake which he must have made in his Kenner Easy Bake Oven

Instead of a goodbye note he left me this cake which he must have made in his Kenner Easy Bake Oven

After fixing the plate I went back to work at my computer and heard him crying and this started a pattern of crying till I came to his cage and hissing when I got near. So I did it; I opened the door and also opened the door to the hallway and went back to work. I never heard a sound, but 5 minutes later I peeked over and the cage was empty. Dude was gone.

So I made this cake for him and left it in the hallway, near his new home. It has liver frosting.

So I made this cake for him and left it in the hallway, near his new home. It has liver frosting.

I didn’t see him for the rest of the day but just now I walked out to the back hallway and there he was; sitting in his usual hallway spot staring at me. And crying. As usual – as had been our ritual for the past few months – I sat on the floor a few feet away and talked to him and he stopped crying and settled down.When I went back in my studio I saw him peek around the corner to look into the door that I left open for him. I am buoyed by that.

That’s it. We are back to where we were, more or less. I am glad that he is not mad at me I am glad that he seems to miss me.

I thought this was a dog cake but upon closer inspection (wearing my glasses) it turns out that it is a ewe cake.

I thought this was a dog cake but it turns out that it is a ewe cake.

Oh, and before I let him go, we added sheetrock walls to his special new home so that when the landlord’s dogs are here, they can’t annoy him, even when he is in his indoor patio. I even taped a picture me on his wall inside his new catitat.

3 Responses to “Say it With Cake: Stray Cat Sayonara”

  1. Gnome de Pluehm Says:

    I’m from down South. I expected a hoecake or some twisted version of that.

  2. Wolfenbach Says:

    Ewwww is right. ;)

    I rather like the buck-toothed deer cake. It has a sort of je ne sais quoi.

  3. My formerly stray now queen of all she survey’s cat would like to know where to find an update of the fetching Chauncey.

Leave a Reply

