Mountains above, mountains below

London Bridges above, London Bridges below. Click pic for locale.

London Bridges above, London Bridges below. Click pic for locale.

A few weeks ago I was emailing with a Psychic – one I’d had readings from on two occasions – and he said something about something as if to say he felt out of sorts but could not put his finger on it. So I opened the I-Ching and randomly pointed at and typed that passage into an email and sent it to him. His reply was Eureka!-ish, and about how I had nailed it exactly and so I thought hmm…. maybe that book has some seriously mystic powers.

So I thought I’d ask the I-Ching about 2009, this brand new year. I used a hammer this time, as a symbolic nod to that previous nailing, and came up with wisdom for 2009. Maybe these words are meant to be guiding or perhaps inspirational, who knows. At any rate there are other pages in the book so I figure if I don’t like them, I can choose another page, although I never do that. And so I type as I read them, with much glancing back and forth because I can’t really type, and unveil the fate of 2009, here, in real time.

I would imagine by ‘superior’ the I-Ching means superior and not, superior. And mountains above and mountians below seems like a deeper take on the iceberg analogy. So here’s to mountains above, below, in the closet, beside themselves, forevermore, and nevermore.

52. Mountains
mountain above
mountain below

Joining Mountains. Thus do superior people think without leaving their place.

Mountains symbolize stability. With mountain above and below, one mountain joins another, and so on, so that a thousand mountains, ten thousand mountains, present a single image of stability.

What superior people see in this is that the inherent goodness in people is the “place” wherein people are human, where they should remain all their lives and never leave for a moment; therefore they emulate the image of joining mountains, and think without leaving their place.

In both social and spiritual life, investigating truth and distinguishing right from wrong, people cannot dispense with thought; but if the thought is right, then they are in their place, while if the thought is wrong they are out of place. It is important that all thoughts stop in their proper place, and do not lose their original reality.

If practitioners of the Tao are able to think in their place, the mind of Tao is ever-present and the human mentality is forever quiescent; no external objects can influence them, so there is no harm to thought.

Do-nothing quietists may say they forget about things and forget about their own bodies, not thinking at all; but this has nothing to do with the Tao of nature and life of body and mind, and is also one form of being out of place.

Being in place means being immutable, stabilized in the right way. Thought that is properly stabilized encompasses all reason and responds to all things. Though one thing all day, never being out of place, it is as though there were not thought. Indeed, when you know the One, all tasks are done; if you do not know the  One, then thought is out of place. How many students in the world know the One?

Leave a Reply

