My broken leg and Mr. Lif at Pearl Street

Scroll down more and more to read about a great show this Friday night at pearl street featuring Mr. Lif. I am meandering to it…

This is my right leg on ski accident.

This is my right leg on ski accident. Click for larger view. Although, it is sort of nauseating.

So, I was just this past weekend telling friends about one apartment on Newton Street in Brighton that came with alarmclockicity. Actually lately it’s all memory lane blathering with me, as I recently had to move some boxes out of storage, that I last packed in Boston in 2002.

Among my Boston things I found my X-rays and titanium rod from my skiing accident in 1991 which I wrote about with pics here. When I made that post I did not have the X-rays. So I have them now and I held them up to the light and took some fairly reasonable pics right before I popped the flash card out of my camera and into my water glass. I hope it dries out and still works. Shit.

Anyway–this is a “before” shot from the hospital. Then I had the choice of a cast from the thigh to the ankle for 6 months and a subsequent cast from the knee down for another 4 months and the math made me crazy so I opted for the surgery and the lovely piece of forever yours, inside and out, titanium “pin”. I call it a rod though as it is 14 inches in length.

The funny thing about the previous post about the broken leg is that it includes pics I took of a neighbor from my Brighton apartment at 1315 Comm Ave (The Peerless) for his cd cover. And he had dreadlocks, loads of them. And this post is really (when it’s not about my broken leg X-rays) about a previous Brighton neighbor musician with dreadlocks, but this neighbor had like 5 of them.



Mr. Lif; see what I mean about the low quantity of dreadlocks? That is like 5 dreadlocks.

Mr. Lif; see what I mean about the low quantity of dreadlocks? That is like 5 dreadlocks. If that.

So, you know how when you go through the tolls at Newton (on the Pike, when you are going to Boston) and you go under that hotel over the Pike and then if you look way up to your right you can’t help but notice the row of old brownstones on the top of the hill? I always wondered about those. And then I moved into one of them. Although I didn’t at first know I was living in those houses; it took a while to figure that out. I can be slow on that uptake.

Left, the titanium rod, now out of my leg and into my permanent collection; Right, the leg after surgery with the rod inside the tibula.

Left, the titanium rod, now out of my leg and into my permanent collection; Right, the leg after surgery with the rod inside the tibula.

Anyway-they are these old brownstones built in the 1880s shaped like a square half circle, from an aerial view, and in back we had a patio with a bar and tiki thingies and so we called it the tiki bar. In the apartment below me were very nice people and one of them was Mr. Lif. Somewhere I have a picture of him petting Jamoka at a party in the tiki bar. Mr. Lif had huge dreadlocks as if he’d scooped a very few huge chunks of hair into what added up to 5 dreadlocks.

And I could hear him playing his whatever night after night although I could really only hear the bass. It was monotonous but pleasant, being only the bass that filtered through the ceiling; it actually lulled me to sleep. His mom made me this coconut bread that was crazy good. And then in the morning the traffic would start slowly with 18 wheelers and commuters starting the drive and the trucks would still be upshifting from coming through the tolls so the increasing noise and shifting gears would lull me awake. It was all quite logical and lullish.

And then just now, after taking pics of my X-rays and memorylaning and anecdotalling about Boston, I got this email from my friend Jim announcing the Mr. Lif show at Pearl street this Friday so I am going to it. Hey! Wouldn’t it be fab if his mom came to it and she had coconut bread? it could happen. And Mr. Lif will be calling in to my radio show this Wednesday at 8 am ish so tune in to 103.3 FM to hear him, or stream it at www.valleyfreeradio.org.

mr. Lif at Pearl Street, the poster

mr. Lif at Pearl Street, the poster

And now here is a message from Mr. Lif:
What’s up Northampton?! I’m just checking in to let y’all know that I’m amped for the show this Friday, Nov 21st at Pearl Street. “Why is Mr. Lif so excited about the show?” you may be asking yourself. Allow me to tell.

For months I have sat in the solitude of my studio, working on a new album that has come to be titled “I Heard It Today”. It’s a political record that is focused on capturing the pulse of these crazy times we’re living in. There is no better reward after being locked away in the studio than being allowed the chance to perform my new songs for a room full of listeners.

Being that I was born and raised in Boston, MA., I’ve always enjoyed getting out of the city for that 2 hour ride to come rock at Pearl Street. Come to the show and be amongst the first to see material from my new album performed live!!!!!

P.S. I’ll have the extremely limited edition “Sleepyheads 3” CD with me, so don’t miss out!

Thanks for your support!!!

-Lif

Isn’t it funny that his CD is called “Sleapyheads 3”? Oh the coincidence.

Leave a Reply

