Lexiconographical Psychometric Meandering Manglings

Bastette

Bastet

While searching for mythology regarding Opossums, I found this, from sacred-texts – “Although native speculation as to the beginning of the world seems undeveloped, the same cannot be said with regard to the origin of mankind, for on that point there are many different beliefs. The myths relating to this topic may be divided into three groups, according as they ascribe to man (a) a wholly independent origin, (b) an independent origin as incomplete beings, who are then finished or completed; or (c) describe a definite making or creation by some deity.”

Hmm. How many beings are actually complete?

Dueling mythologies such as the myth of Narcissus would seem to give evidence that Narcissism is a sort of insecure human incompleteness that is rampant. And, possibly slightly emotionally dangerous. To others.

Anyway–There is a cat living in my building. It is an orange-ish blur spotted by 3 of us now. I put out water and cheese for it. We have a huge mice problem and I am going broke buying peppermint oil and sacredly defending my space by prancing about dropping the oil around the perimeter of my space. But the universe sent me a cat! How perfect, letting the order of things fix …the mice problem.

THE PHARAOH WRINGER WASHER, 2005

THE PHARAOH WRINGER WASHER, 2005

So I named this cat Bastette, for Bastet, the “cat goddess and local deity of the town of Bubastis or Per-Bast in Egyptian, where her cult was centered. Bubastis was named after her. Originally she was viewed as the protector goddess of Lower Egypt, and consequently depicted as a fierce lioness. Indeed, her name means (female) devourer. As protector, she was seen as defender of the pharaoh, and consequently of the later chief male deity, Ra, who was a solar deity also, gaining her the titles Lady of Flame and Eye of Ra.”

Perfect! I have a sculpture that I call The Pharaoh Wringer Washer. So Bastette (the ette is an affectionate and diminutive term for this little orange blur) and she is protecting The Pharaoh. And my sanity. And thus, ability to make new work.

Other words I made up this morning as the result of my friend Maureen, who is annuallistically coping with hordes of people visiting her Salem, looking for witches.

Fauxristocrat -Faustian Faux Aristocrat would be one that makes a deal with the Devil so that others would see them as royalty.

Lemures – Since Lemmings are peculiar to Arctic regions I would say sat Lemures are those people that are able to demurely handle winter. I neurotically whine my way through winter, which I see as cruel and usual weather for my fragile bones and psychometric self.

I guess I abandoned the search for Opossumism. But I have one living in my garden and they also eat mice so I am positive that The Universe is helping me with the rampant mouse problem. If they would bathe regularly, get all their shots, and keep their droppings to the outdoors, I’d not mind them.

3 Responses to “Lexiconographical Psychometric Meandering Manglings”

  1. oops! Just found out cats can get diarrhea from dairy. I wonder if Bastette would like Newman’s Own Organic Ginger-Os?

  2. I heart my little orange blur. I wish we could be friends. My biological mother makes little tents with plastic strip doors and lightbulbs as heat for all the neighborhood strays. Maybe an affinity for stray cats is in my DNA.

  3. Wolfenbach Says:

    Your orange blur will become your friend, but you need to give her about 6 weeks. And catnip as an offering doesn’t hurt, either. ;)

Leave a Reply

