Life is a Carnival

WITH CIRCULARLY OCCURRING MIDWAYS AND RECURRING METAPHORS

More rust spots to go. I hope I don't dent the hood getting to those.

More rust spots to go. I hope I don't dent the hood getting to those.

I was working in the alley again yesterday. I have all this rust on my car; I have little spots here and there and threatening to grow. One of them is on my door so, fearing losing my door and having no budget for taking my car to an auto body shop or to buy a new door, I decided to do it myself. I felt qualified, in a half-assed way, since last summer I had use fiberglass and resin and bondo to create the vacuum cleaner project, in that same alley, and it was fun working in the alley with all the visitors, human and otherwise.

There was this loud BOOM! As I was dragging out a 100 ft extension cord and I ducked and then looked around to see if anyone saw that embarrassing bit. People opened their windows and leaned out and seeing me, asked what was that. I told them my new project is a mosaiced canon and I was trying it out. No, really I told them I didn’t know and then of course told them about my embarrassing duck which I’d just a moment ago hoped no one would notice. I am like that. It can be embarrassing to be me.

Not so bad for a first auto body project.

Not so bad for a first auto body project.

So I was using my disk sander and grinding off the rust when 3 huge HG&E trucks came by. Guess what!? It was my same pals from that whole saving the birds by cutting the Bird-killing wire thing. It was nice to see their smiley faces. One said hey! You guys were in the paper yesterday and gave me a copy of the Republican with an article about Holyoke artists quoting the city’s “goal to create and establish a network for artists” and also saying, “I think they’re going to play a very important part in revitalizing downtown”. Gosh. That’s sweet.

We do have quite the existing network and we all mostly know each other and have meetings and such (like the one with the Mayor last week) and it’s nice that the city wants to know us as well. It’s funny how a group of people with limited resources and peculiar skills can be credited with a revitalization. The article was right next to an article titled. “Two men rob audio shop”; that wasn’t us though. So HG&E likes us (and they like the wildlife), and the Mayor likes us and now the City likes us. That’s a lot of like.

Anyway – I was wearing my respirator and gloves and my favorite ratty old red hoodie sweatshirt for this momentous first-time auto body project. That sweatshirt is like a security blanket. And it was fresh from the wash because I had inadvertently make it smell by using elderberry hand cream the other day, which made it smell not like elderberry but like something else, like a person from my past who caused me insecurity. My security blanket had thus become an insecurity blanket, but after the wash it was all security-ish again.

My friend Jim,

Apropos of nothing really: My friend Jim, visiting from Brooklyn, ponders the "dness" in The Kindness Coolerator.

I had gotten all the rust off and more guys came by from my building and asked when I was going to spray the primer. I said in a bit. NONONO!, they said. You have to do it now; the metal starts oxidizing immediately and so you cannot wait. Shit!, I replied, I have therapy at 2! So I rushed and got the primer done in time. Phew. Then halfway through therapy, and the recounting of the latest crisis, my therapist said, “that’s a fire drill, I have to leave the building.” And she hung up with a promise to call back.

Sometimes I feel like a cartoon.

But my auto body work came out pretty good for a novice. In this life.

Main Entry:
Pronunciation: \pi-ˈkyül-yər\
Function: adjective
Etymology: Middle English peculier, from Latin peculiaris of private property, special, from peculium private property, from pecu cattle; akin to Latin pecus cattle – more at fee
Date: 15th century

1: characteristic of only one person, group, or thing : distinctive

2: different from the usual or normal: a: special , particular b: odd , curious c: eccentric , queer
synonyms see characteristic, strange
– pe·cu·liar·ly adverb

Leave a Reply

