“Then She Found Me” author on Mo Radio Wednesday, May 28.

I have many friends; imaginary and real (ish). My radio guests are all real though. This post is about tomorrow’s real guest on my mostly real radio show. And ends up being about a letter I recently got from Salman Rushdie (at the end), as it turns out.

Tomorrow (A Wednesday — specifically May 28, 2008) — on Mo Radio, my scheduled guest was to be the brilliant Silas Kopf. But I had stumbled upon a movie review (in The Valley Advocate, I think) of the movie Then She Found Me and emailed the author, Elinor Lipman, inviting her to be my guest next week. But she was busy next week so I switched her with the gracious Silas (who knows her, as it turns out, in a small world kinda way). Silas Kopf will now be my guest next Wednesday (for my show is Wednesdays from 8-9 AM in a regular and structured kind of way, as opposed to my irregular and unstructured life), June 4, 2008 from 8-9 AM.

Elinor Lipman \Anyway, tomorrow Elinor will join me for a live one hour chat from 8-9 AM which can be heard at 103.3 FM, if you are within 100 watts (or whatevers) of Florence, MA. Or you can stream it at www.valleyfreeradio.com. Or not. It’s all up to you. Only you can decide what is best for you. Free to be, you and me, and Up With People and all that.

The movie is currently in theaters and is about a woman who is adopted and whose biological mother turns up. I haven’t read the book or seen the movie but am planning to do so soon. From the author’s website:

Watch a trailer for the movie at Helen Hunt’s Web site, and see the beautiful movie-tie-in jacket for Then She Found Me, available April 1.

Then She Found Me, based on my first novel by the same name, and starring Helen Hunt, Bette Midler, Colin Firth, and Matthew Broderick, will open April 25, 2008, in New York and Los Angeles, then wider (and wider again.) Variety called the filma smart, subtle and seriously funny dramedy bound to find favor with sophisticated auds….Pic often is extremely funny, but the comedy always remains rooted in sharply and warmly observed reality. (A nice touch: Most of the characters are Jewish, and their traditions clearly mean much to them.)”

Author’s ecstatic note: I saw TSFM on Oct. 16 at a screening, and adored it. I laughed and I cried and I came away calling Helen Hunt (who wrote the screenplay and directed the film) a genius. Bette Midler as Bernice–you can’t take your eyes off her. Fabulous performances all around. Cameo by Salman Rushdie as a bemused obstetrician!

I know a thing or two about this subject. I don’t yet know Salman Rushdie though. But I did read The Ground Beneath Her Feet although I didn’t quite finish it. I was traveling in Australia and it got lost. Salman is sending me a new copy. Maybe he’ll sign it. Maybe he’ll write…

“Dear Mo, I am sending you this copy to replace the one you lost. I am also enclosing two plane tickets so you can go back to Australia and look for your original copy and can bring a friend to help carry your bags. Please say hello to your new best friend Sue Tilley when she comes to visit you in June and try to stay out of trouble. I love the Diner Stools. Stay in therapy though, it does help. And, um, looks like you had a lot of fun all by yourself in the comments section of the Big Sue post. It may be a good thing that no one reads those, but I do love that Big Sue commented on your post about her and I am serious about wanting you to introduce me to her. Does the internet not totally rock? That’s how I stayed in touch with the world when I was in hiding all those years after I wrote *that* book. Man, the first time I openly ate out in a restaurant it felt glorious. I ordered 5 appetizers and 2 entrees. With Love, Salman (Rushdie).”

Then I will send him a Thank You note and some handmade wineglasses. yay.

I really have some extraordinary imaginary friends. Seriously, they are always there for me and will do anything for me.

Leave a Reply

