Global Warming – Do you care enough to click?

81_care.jpgThis morning I got an email from my old friend Al Gore. All he wants is numbers of people to help in the crusade to heighten awareness about global warming and possibly to rally the media and powers-that-be to do something about it. It has been my experience that when I include links requiring clicks and a few minutes to help a movement, such links are not much clicked on. Sigh. Bitching about global warming is as effective as bitching about anything; it is pointless. But life is not pointless, so long as we have an earth to have a life on. Not having a planet to have a life on renders said life pointless. And so it goes.

So please click and contribute. Not money, just a click and 1 minute and 27 seconds to fill in your name etc. I have pasted his letter below. Beneath that is a reward for reading on–a beautiful work of art by my friend Brendan Sweeney. Brendan cares about global warming which is evident in his art, for why paint cats if there is to be no earth for cats to be cat-ly on? And definitely keep reading because there is a virtually edible personality test at the end.

Confession: I have slightly edited Al’s greeting to me.

Dearest Mo,

How’s the art going? Let me know if you need a reference for your grant applications. I am a HUGE fan of your work. Sign me up for whatever you do next. Reading your blog is one of my greatest joys, besides saving the world. And thanks for the hand-painted wineglasses and your generous offer to be my PR person and world-travel assistant – I’ll keep that in mind. But, today I am actually writing to ask for your help….

Global warming is a problem of unprecedented magnitude and that’s why we’ve launched the largest mobilization campaign ever. Actions by individuals like you will be the driving force behind this campaign and our ultimate victory. We’re going to succeed, but I need your help today.

More than 825,000 people have already joined us, but if leaders in business and government are going to make stopping climate change a priority, we need you to urge your friends to get involved today:

http://wecansolveit.org/inviteyourfriends

We need to grow to 1,000,000 members by April so we can send a loud message that we want action now. That is why I need you to forward the email below to all of your friends right now and ask them to add their voices.

Thank you,

Al Gore

Dear Friend,Climate change is an urgent issue that requires immediate solutions. That’s why I’ve joined with Al Gore and others across the country and around the world who want to halt global warming.We’re on the verge of being over one million strong and I’m asking you to join us. Please click here today to become part of the solutions to global warming:http://wecansolveit.org/onemillionIf leaders in business and government are going to make stopping climate change a priority, we need to send a loud message that we want action now. That’s why I’m asking you to get involved today:http://wecansolveit.org/onemillionTogether, we can stop global warming.

P.S. AlGore.com from the start has been about building a movement to solve the climate crisis. As we launch our major national and international campaign through the Alliance for Climate Protection and the Climate Protection Action Fund, AlGore.com members may hear from these organizations by email with updates and actions.

“Cat”, by Brendan Sweeney.

“Cat”, by Brendan Sweeney

That is one exceptional cat painting. It is not for sale though, but reasonable offers for a print of the cat might be entertained. And by reasonable I mean piles. And by piles I mean 5 digits. of money.

And for easter-ish fun, here is a chocolate bunny personality test. As the result of taking this test I now have answers to pressing questions and will take a one week vacation from therapy. So in one fell post I have provided beauty and insight. ;-)

Leave a Reply

