RED PSYCHOMETRIC ALLIGATOR POOLS

My work comes back from the museum today after a 3 1/2 month vacation. The truck comes to get me in an hour. The Stone Soup truck, not the other. So for the past week I have been frantically painting and sealing my floor, having waited till the last of those minutes to take the opportunity to make my floor all nice. Somehow, somewhat accidentally, like my very being, I painted it red. Kinda like the red pictures I took from the kitchen window last winter in San Francisco. I painted it in bits, making little paper islands where I could walk so as not to walk on the wet parts. It reminded me of when I was younger (and wiser?) and we used to play the alligator game at the supermarket. You know–the one where the dominant color squares are safe to walk on or hop to and how if you step on the white or less dominantly hued squares you would be eaten by the alligators. And of course it made me think of the metaphor-go-round that is life.

I then decided, because I have excellent decision-making skills, that anxiety is what happens when you take your psychometric-pressured self for a ride on the tea cups but the universe goes off kilter and it spins faster and faster and the ride operator can’t make it stop. It could be that the ride operator is the same guy who tends to the alligators. And I thought I had invented the term psychometric pressure this morning while chatting with a friend at Garvulenski’s in Holyoke (BTW-I made a slogan for Holyoke –> “HOLYOKE IS *TRYING*”, and am waiting to see if the mayor approves it or not) where I was getting an inspection (my car passed. I did not.)

I thought to invent that term because I have recently observed, rather scientifically, that perhaps due to fluctuations in barometric pressure, or, psychometric pressure, everything seems off. Even the spam I get seems anxious and less coherent than usual. This morning Amish Coelho wrote to say, “eeelotj!!!”, which clearly proves my point. Overuse of exclamation points means anxiety in this instance. But then I checked with my psychic advisor, Google, and it seems that I did not actually invent a new word and that psychometric pressure is in fact a scientific term and one which merits studies. I found this article about a Harvard study and paste it here, with corrections:

Abstract
The high pressure (E=MC2) nervous syndrome (h.p.n.s.) was studied in man from clinical, electrophysiological and psychometric viewpoints during a variety of simulated dives lives to depths deeper than 300 m (i.e., below the surface of blissful ignorancity life densitometry), which used different modes loads of compression and different gasHeliox, Trimix, neurotix, anxiotix, insecuritrix). In particular we studied tremor trauma, myoclonia, taxes, and changes in electrosecuritygram measurements and psychometric emotional mixtures ( performance. Three points stemmed from these results.

(1) Some h.p.n.s. signs are present whichever technique is used, while others depend on the technique, both in intensity and in quality; so there is a syndrome due to compression, whose effects diminish, and a pressure syndrome, which persists at depth. (2) There are differences between the susceptibility of different individuals, not only concerning h.p.n.s. as a whole, but also each symptom and its evolution at a given constant depth. (3) There are no close correlations between the different symptoms observed.

And so, NOT apropos of the tea cup ride nor of the metaphor-go-round, I am including some not relevant quotes because my anxiety over the impending move (the truck is coming in half of an hour now) is spinning faster and I am not making sense here. Next week I will be slightly less psychometrically enclosed and more/less incoherent and fractionalized.

Sandra Harding (born 1935) is an American philosopher of feminist and postcolonial theory, epistemology, research methodology and philosophy of science. She has contributed to standpoint theory and to the multicultural study of science. She gained some notoriety for referring to Newton’s Laws as a “rape manual” (Harding: 1986, pg. 264). The full quote is:

“Isaac Newton’s Principia Mathematica is a ‘rape manual’ because ‘science is a male rape of female nature’.”
(Ed. note: WTF is *that* about? –20 minutes till truck time)

+ I had some money, I made the best paintings ever. I was completely reclusive, worked a lot, took a lot of drugs. I was awful to people. – Jean Michel Basquiat

+ You know the worst thing is freedom. Freedom of any kind is the worst for creativity. – Salvador Dali

+ I tend to like things that already exist. – Jasper Johns

+ I believe in advertisement and media completely. My art and my personal life are based in it. I think that the art world would probably be a tremendous reservoir for everybody involved in advertising. – Jeff Koons

+ Oh yes! he loved yellow, this good Vincent, this painter from Holland – those glimmers of sunlight rekindled his soul, that abhorred the fog, that needed the warmth. – Paul Gauguin

+ I guess I’m like Roger Miller who used to say that he didn’t have as many jokes as he thought he did.Glen Campbell.

–15 minutes till truck time. Must not step on indominant squares.

6 Responses to “RED PSYCHOMETRIC ALLIGATOR POOLS”

  1. From Gnomus—because wordpress has singled him out for notlettingindom:

    Meauxsie dotes on Quaker Oats ….

    “Wagner’s music is better than it sounds,” Mark Twain.

    Xaeno

  2. On Sandra Harding’s remark, see the book, “Reflections on Gender and Science” by Evelyn Fox Keller. Harding was using a feminist critique of science as a historically “masculinized” project; that is, she was referring to the way nature was conceived of as female — and as something to be seduced or ravished — by the intrepid (male) explorer/scientist of the 17th century.

    (Didn’t write it, just reporting it.)

  3. Thanks Bette-
    I found that quote so randomly and it is fascinating and inflammatory out of context. I like that. I might have to read the book as it t makes more sense now. I like sense.

  4. P.S. I have just this minute decided that the bottom image is mother nature. ;-)

  5. And one last post as me because I love comments and think everyone should comment; the username Meauxsie is pronounced Mosey because that’s one of the things Mo is short for. I grew up being called Mosey Josey by my mom and Mosely Josely by my dad. It explains a lot. In an uninteresting and irrelevant way.

  6. Amish Coehlo Says:

    WTH, do i even know u?
    I thought to invent that term because I have recently observed, rather scientifically, that perhaps due to fluctuations in barometric pressure, or, psychometric pressure, everything seems off. Even the spam I get seems anxious and less coherent than usual. This morning [b] “Amish Coelho” [b\] wrote to say, “eeelotj!!!”, which clearly proves my point.

Leave a Reply

