TODAY I’M YOURS

“In San Francisco I wandered into a maze that was sometimes people and sometimes empty, sometimes brightly lit and sometimes so dark I had to grope my way along it with my hands, heart pounding with fear that I would never find my way out. I quickly became lost and thought almost everyone I met was lost too. Sometimes it seemed to me an empty life, but it wasn’t really true. It wasn’t empty, it was more that the people and events in it were difficult to put together in any way that felt whole.”
From, Today I’m Yours, by Mary Gaitskill, The Best American Short Stories, 2006.

3 Responses to “TODAY I’M YOURS”

  1. akdyucbgxEUO

  2. “…it wasn’t really true. It wasn’t empty, it was more that the people and events in it were difficult to put together in any way that felt whole.” — What a great way to re-envision that angst-y experience of emptiness! I love it :)

Leave a Reply

